Beginner Plum Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Absolute beginner here jumping into the deep end. We bought our first home last fall complete with a plum and apple tree.
While the apple tree is not doing so hot thanks to the humid summer we've had here, the plum tree went absolutely wild. As a last-second moment of panic trying to think what to do with so much fruit, I realized I could make a decent wine with what I've got on hand! After multiple kijiji runs, and some equipment and advice from my uncle who used to make wine for years, I'm ready to get started.

From my own cruising of forums and youtube tutorials, I've got the basics down. Any advice on what to do/watch out for in my first attempts? Any help is greatly appreciated.

When asking questions please have as much information on hand before posting. Do you have an hydrometer? What is the starting specific gravity? what is it now? Temperatures, then and now. I hope to get your mind wrapped around what to look for and when. It has taken me years to think properly without the help of WMT. May this forum help you.

Welcome to WMT!

First advice? Patience, Grasshopper. With very few exceptions, winemaking is a procrastinator's hobby.

Second advice? Ask questions before doing -- it's far easier to point you toward a good path than to fix a problem. Post your recipe/method for comment before starting.

Freezing fruit breaks down the structure and helps with extraction. Just as importantly, it gives you time to ask questions.

Harvest fruits when fully ripe, hopefully no pesticide or herbicides were used. freeze fruits and keep collecting when you have at least 20 pounds frozen make wine. remove pits. I use a blender and pulse blend. but others mash. them.