First Blackberry Wine (One Gallon batch)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timber

Reaction score
First Blackberry Wine (Three Gallon batch)

Hi,

Very soon I will be starting a 1 gallon batch of blackberry wine using frozen blackberries that were hand picked last summer.
This is my first attempt at making wine but I've been reading up and asking questions here during the last month or so.
My wine yeast should be here in a few days.

If someone could please review the steps below before I actually start it would be greatly appreciated.

I believe I have all of the ingredients and equipment needed now so I am proposing on doing the following.
I'll be working from the recipe listed below.

Blackberry Wine Recipe

Wild blackberries taste best, but don’t fret if you don’t have access to them. A good quality frozen blackberry from your local market will more than suffice. I’ve used store-brand in a pinch, and they’re great! This recipe makes a dry, medium-bodied wine.
Ingredients:

4 lb blackberries
2-1/4 lb granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon pectic enzyme
1/2 teaspoon acid blend
1 Campden tablet, crushed
7 pints water
1 package wine yeast and nutrient

Preparation:

* Clean and Steralize all equipment.

Thoroughly wash the berries and place them in nylon jelly bag bag.
Crush them and strain the juice through the bag into the primary fermentor.
Be sure to press as much juice as possible, leaving the solids relatively dry.
Tie the jelly bag tightly, and insert it into the fermentor
Add pectic enzyme, acid blend, Campden, and 7 pints water.

* Take the specific gravity

Add sugar a bit at a time, Stir until all sugar is dissolved and

* the must has a specific gravity of 1.090)

Cover, and allow it to rest for 24 hours.
Sprinkle the wine yeast and nutrient over it and allow it to sit, stirring once daily, for 5 days.