Hi from NJ

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Neviawen

Reaction score
Hello! I just recently joined your forum and figured I would introduce myself. My name is Katie and I am still fairly new to wine making. So far I've made blackberry wine, potato wine, some pinot noir and a few meads. I've visited your site a few times for answers to a few questions that I had when getting my few batches of wine started. Right now I have a 6 gallon carboy of Pinot Noir which is almost ready to bottle, a batch of blueberry mead in a 1 gallon carboy and my latest batch of clover mead is bubbling away in a 1 gallon primary. I've tasted them while checking the SG on them and they still taste really good. I'm hoping they hurry up so that I can drink some soon!

Katie welcome to WMT. This is a great place to learn from as you know and a bunch of great folks. I'd be interested to hearing more about your potato wine. I have never heard of it.

Welcome to the forum, Katie. It sounds like you're well on your way to the obsession. :db

Potato Wine recipe

Thanks everyone! I am already hooked on making wine. My kitchen looks looks like a science lab and I've already cleaned out a closet in the basement to store all my bottled, equipment, etc. :)

Dan: The potato wine I made I got the recipe from a little purple paper booklet called "Wine Maker's Recipe Handbook". Here's the recipe:

2 lb. potatos
1/2 pint White grape concentrate
7 pints water
2 1/2 lbs sugar (I only used 2 lbs)
3 tsp acid blend
1/2 tsp tannin
1 tsp nutrient
1 package wine yeast (I used Cuvee yeast)

Method: