Topped off carboy with commercial wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ventisei

Junior
Reaction score
Hello,
I am brand new to winemaking. I bought 5 gallons of frozen Cabernet Saugivnon from Livermore. I followed the MOREWINE instructions and after finishing primary fermentation my final sp. gr was 0.992. I pressed my grapes and let them sit for about 36 hours. I then racked into a new 3 gallon carboy and innoculated with ML bacteria and Acti-ML. Unfortutanely, this is where I screwed up. I had too much head space so I added almost a whole bottle of store bought cab to top it off. EEEKKK!!! Have I totally blown it? Is there anything I can do to save it? I do some activity but I'm sure there were sulfites in the wine I added. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

Getting rid of the headspace was a good thing to do. The little bit of sulfites in the store bought wine probably will cause you no issues.

The activity from MLF is very subtle too almost nothing. It does take potentially a fairly long time (2 to 3 months) for MLF to complete and the only way to know that it has completed is by running a test or using Malic acid test strips. You will want to keep the temps up somewhat, somewhere around 70-75F.

I have seen a hack to fill up head space by using glass marbels. Haven’t tried this but seems they would be easy to sanitize and would do the trick. Obviously you would need a lot of marbles and they are reusable.

What do you think of this?

I have seen a hack to fill up head space by using glass marbels. Haven’t tried this but seems they would be easy to sanitize and would do the trick. Obviously you would need a lot of marbles and they are reusable.