first timers set up kit?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sunnysideup

Mostly Organic Farmer
Reaction score
im just beginning to get have interest in winemaking since I have several fruit trees/bushes that include: peach, plum, apple, crabapple, mayhaw (not sure if anyone makes wine with mayhaws), muscadines and blueberry bushes....

im wanting to get a wine kit online....I want to get something great that I can use from now on, but I don't want to buy stuff that maynot be worth getting...since ill admit I know very lil, im not sure what I should get yet and what I shouldn't....

im looking at this from a website I visited today.

think this would be a good starter set or think I should get something less or from another website? any advice or comments will be appreciated.

http://www.winemakersdepot.com/Ultimate-Vintners-Wine-Making-Equipment-Kit-GLASS-P572.aspx

Last edited:
That looks like a pretty good setup to me. It has everything you will need and some things you would end up buying eventually if you bought a more basic kit. Like the Auto syphon and degassing wand. You will probably need a acid test kit when using fresh fruit and a fruit press, but this is a good starter kit.

Welcome to WMT! I look forward to hearing about your harvesting and wine making adventures.

Note: The Carboy Carrying Handle is only good to help stabilize the carboy while carrying, not to carry the carboy.

The Fermtech Wine Thief is a great way to take a measurement. You can use it to remove wine from the carboy, and drop a hydrometer into it. You do not need a separate hydrometer test jar.

1 gallon glass bottle with screw top, and funnel. You can use it to save sanitizing solution for reuse.