HELLO from australia

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello ,
Name is TJ i am from Australia ,
Calabrian background, ive been making RED GRAPE wine for a few years now on my own, though growing up when the grandparents were able to it was a once a year get together with the family event. I am only interested in red grape wine nothing else.
Now that they are unable to make it anymore i have taken the reins. I always done it the way i was shown,crush , ferment,press then barrel. Never did i add anything. This year was my first year killing off the wild yeast and adding the yeast, nutrient etc. Not sure if its the "proper" way of doing wine but i am doing it more controlled now. I signed up on this forum to read and learn as i have a passion for this.

speak to you guys/girls soon

Welcome to the forum.

Hello ,
Name is TJ i am from Australia ,
Calabrian background, ive been making RED GRAPE wine for a few years now on my own, though growing up when the grandparents were able to it was a once a year get together with the family event. I am only interested in red grape wine nothing else.
Now that they are unable to make it anymore i have taken the reins. I always done it the way i was shown,crush , ferment,press then barrel. Never did i add anything. This year was my first year killing off the wild yeast and adding the yeast, nutrient etc. Not sure if its the "proper" way of doing wine but i am doing it more controlled now. I signed up on this forum to read and learn as i have a passion for this.

speak to you guys/girls soon
Welcome. From what I understand, the old ways work and the new ways work… you just have more control when you use commercial yeast and nutrients.