Hello from the Cincinnati Area

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AFW

Junior
Reaction score
My name is Alan and I have been making different kit wines since 2006. I am newly retired and am interested in making wine from grapes and learning more. Just starting to looking into finding places that I can source 100 lbs of wine grapes. Anyone have places they source wine grapes in the Cindy area?

Welcome Alan,
I am from the Cincy area and have purchased grapes from Collinwood grapes in Cleveland a couple of times. I also purchased from Label Peelers once. I have looked for a local supplier but haven't had any luck. I was happy with both suppliers. Long drive but what the heck your retired, right.?

I’ve tried to use Collinwood but they are difficult to work with.

Have you looked into your local food terminal?

If your just getting started, you might want to try kits or juice buckets first. They don’t require expensive equipment to distempered or crush the grapes.

My name is Alan and I have been making different kit wines since 2006. I am newly retired and am interested in making wine from grapes and learning more. Just starting to looking into finding places that I can source 100 lbs of wine grapes. Anyone have places they source wine grapes in the Cindy area?
Alan, here is a source that I use in Columbus. Joe is a very nice guy and very helpful. He has grapes in season and juices. He also carries a line of supplies that you may need.

https://www.mercurioproduce.com/

I know you are closer to Cincinnati and Dayton so you might try produce companies in those cities.

Not too far away in Louisville, KY. Our local shop does a bulk order with Walker's in the fall.