Making a frizzante

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jlemaux

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first post here and I'm new to wine making (I've been brewing beer for about 5 years, though).

I'd
like to make a frizzante wine this summer. I've been searching for a
vinho verde kit, but I can't seem to locate one. Apparently Mosti
Mondiale has discontinued there version. Anyway, I've never done this
before so I need help. Here are my two ideas:

1. Stabilize the wine but skip the degassing step. This would leave some residual C02, but it wouldn't be very precise.

2. Skip the stabilization step and prime the wine with yeast and a very small amount of sugar.

Step
2 seems the riskiest. In beer making, the amount of sugar added at
bottling can be used to calculate the CO2 levels of the finished beer.
However, I don't know how to calculate this using wine yeast. I'm
afraid I would end up a bunch of bottles blowing their corks.

I'm
looking for low levels of CO2 so that a regular cork would be
sufficient to hold the pressure. Also, if possible, I'd be using just a
regular concentrate kit--Wine Expert or the like.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
John

If you can't force carbonate the wine then using the same calculation for priming beer should work for your wine. Skip the addition of sorbate and when wine clears prime with sugar and bottle (there should be enough active yeast left)

Whatever method is used I would strong recommend not using regular corks in wine bottles since they are notdesigned to hold back any pressure.Not sure if using champagne corks without wires would hold either. Large capped beer bottles would be a much better option.

Thanks for the reply.