Multiple additions?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. Brand new member...recent vineyard owner/manager...experienced with brewing, but new to winemaking. As a newbie, I don't mind asking stupid questions, and I have a couple such questions. But they are unrelated, so I will ask them in two separate threads.

Here's the first: Are there any reasons not to add additional juice or must to an active fermenter within a reasonable amount of time? Obviously, you have to be mindful of sanitary practices and make sure it all happens in primary fermentation. But I can think of two scenarios (that we happen to be facing) where this might be practical. First, let's say your harvest crew is small, and you can't harvest a full block in a single session. You harvest and press, let's say a third, and inoculate. Then you come back the next day, harvest and press another third, and add it to the active fermentation. Then a couple days later, you finish the rest.

The other scenario would be if you have uneven ripeness in your vineyard, maybe because the sun hits more in one area, or you didn't get to shoot thinning/hedging in time. So you do a pass to get the really ripe grapes one day, then do a second pass a week later, after the others have had a chance to come along, adding the second pass to the fermenter.