Blackberry - up or down?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have 9kg (20lbs) blackberries and I have to decide if I make a 5 gallon, or 2 gallon batch.

This is my first time making blackberry and would appreciate hearing about your experience and recommendaations.

Thank you
Ray...

I would personally lean towards the 2 gallon batch for more flavor. I’ve seen folks use 5-10 pounds per gallon; there are a lot of recipes either way. They can be pretty tart too… I’ve back sweetened most of mine just enough to take the edge off.

What do you want it to end up as? What is your vision for it?

Do you mean Imperial or US gallon?

I've never heard of anyone complaining about a fruit wine because of too much fruit, but the reverse happens. From your wording I assume this is not your first wine, so you know enough to start with larger volume (e.g., 2.5 gallons) to ensure you have enough wine to fill the container(s).

Me personally, I would make a five/ 19 liter, and get a neutral flavor juice like apple or white grape as the filler.

The positive side for a high blackberry percentage is that the polyphenols provide antioxidants that can give twenty years of shelf life. The negative is that as polyphenols polymerize they become larger and taste bitter before becoming large enough to drop out of solution / become flavorless.