Newbie Needs Help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barney

Reaction score
First of all, I would like to say hi to everyone and thank all of you for making this a great source for information. Second, I want to apologize if this goes long.
Needless to say, I am new to wine making and I have lots of questions. A few weeks ago I thought it might be fun to brew my own beer, since that is my beverage of choice and started doing research. After a few days of surfing the net, I decided that wine making appealed to me since it can be made form things that are grown locally. So, to start with I found instructions for Welch's, "Balloon" wine. Plastic gallon water jug, juice, sugar and yeast. Followed instructions and within an hour my batch was fermenting and it was very active for six days before it slowed down. At that point I got excited and decided to refine the "balloon" process and racked the wine in to actual wine bottles. The next day I called George and placed an order for better equipment.
Once everything arrived I tried to start an apple wine from a recipe off of this site. I followed the recipe and added everything to my fermenting bucket. Adding all the new chemicals that I purchased for the recipe. Three days passed and fermentation never started, so I poured it out. Then, just to see what would happen, I took another shot at the apple recipe only this time I used the "balloon" method, but I used a glass carboy, bung stop and airlock instead of the plastic jug and balloon. All I did was add the juice, dissolve my sugar in water, add it, pour in the yeast (no other chemicals)and shake. In about an hour fermentation started and it has been active for several days now.
So...