Recorking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wineforfun

Still Trying To Make The Perfect Wine and Now Tryi
Reaction score
Is it ok to pull a cork and recork the bottle without any harm to the wine? It has been corked for 6 weeks. I am new to winemaking and my first batch I bottled with #8's and want to pull them and put #9's in so I can keep one for quite awhile.
I will be corking with #9's from now on as I don't see any reason to use anything but a 9.
Thanks.

Yes, you can recork. Just don't shake up the bottles while uncorked. Do the recorking immediately after removing the old cork.

Ok, thank you, that was my thinking but being new, wasn't sure if it was the right thinking.

Kind of a side note, why do people use anything but a #9 cork? Even if you are going to drink it soon, why not take the precaution in case you let it sit/age?

Ok, thank you, that was my thinking but being new, wasn't sure if it was the right thinking.

Kind of a side note, why do people use anything but a #9 cork? Even if you are going to drink it soon, why not take the precaution in case you let it sit/age?

I have the same question. I think my starter kit (double lever corker) came with 8s, which is why I bought another 100 of those. Are 9s impossible to do with a double lever corker? I'm not a little guy, but I am more concerned about the equipment and bottles.

I found 9's to be a giant PITA with a double level corker. I used 8's until I got my floor corker.

I have a handheld double lever corker that does #9's just fine. I have even put them in with the cheap little $10 plastic corker, but it was really tough. The double handle works really slick for me.
Granted, my son and I are both weighlifters, but still don't find it to be very hard.
That is just our personal experience.